Heather McIntyre – BTC Election Bio

HM-5As I sit down to write this bio it’s hard to believe I’ve been involved with triathlons for 7 years.  Who knew 7 years later I’d be running for a position on Board of Directors for the Buffalo Triathlon Club?  Competing in triathlons has become more than a sport to me, it has become a way of life.  My social calendar works around my workouts, my family vacations incorporate Ironman competitions and my base of friends are mostly triathletes.  I strive to do the best I can whenever I commit to something and this is very true of triathlons.  I put 100% effort into my training and focus on my A race so when that day comes I know I am prepared.  I would do the same as a member of the Board.  To date I have completed 4 Ironman competitions, 2 World Champion 70.3 competitions, numerous ½ Ironman competitions and even more finishes in the intermediate distances.  I was also named an All-American Triathlete by USAT for finishing in the top 5% of all woman 40-44 in 2012.

I believe I bring experience to the table for this group and I would love to be a part of planning events that benefit the new members of the BTC.  I am familiar with all aspects of the sport and with many of the venues where the races are held.  I would like to see more time allotted to the preparation of new triathletes for their races by taking a day and going to certain local venues and holding training clinics that mimic the race itself.  I remember my first triathlon, Tri In the Buff, and how lost I felt (it didn’t help that the swells were 4-5 ft in the swim) and wish I had gotten down there at least once before participating. 

HM-1One of the best perks of belonging to this club is the connections and social networking that take place.  I’ve already headed up several TriGirl happy hours throughout the past two years and would continue to do so periodically.  I think it is important to socialize off the race course too.

I have been a member of the BTC for quite a few years and have made so many amazing friends through this club and I proudly wear the black, red and white.  This club and the people in it are a big part of my life and I consider these people part of my family.  It’s my goal to make others feel the same way. 

Triathlons are my passion and creating interest in the sport is my mission. 

Back to main election page

Leave a Reply

