Karla Sommers

GOTR 2014My name is Karla Sommers. I have been a BTC member since 2013. While I have done a few triathlons, I would still consider myself new to the sport. I started running in 2012 and jumped on the triathlon training 2013. I never thought I would ever be a triathlete. In 2008 I broke my neck. I shattered my C1 vertebrae. Needless to say, the injury changed my life. I now take nothing for granted. I am thankful every day for what I can do and what I have been able to accomplish. Before the injury I was active but not necessarily an athlete. Now, I am in the best shape of my life and live every moment to the fullest.

In 2013 I started with sprints and have worked my way up to completing 2 half Iron distance triathlons in 2015. I have never let the injury stop me. Triathlon has even become a family affair. My husband is registered for Ironman Lake Placid in 2016 and my children have done several kids triathlon.

RFR 2015When I joined the BTC I was scared. I didn’t know what to expect or even if I belonged. Could I do what was expected as a triathlete? I soon learned the only expectation was fun and I can do fun. The scared feeling was instantly gone. The overwhelming support and care from each and every member of the club was overwhelming. The friendships made and the knowledge gained will never be lost. The rally cries and pictures and high fives make any struggle on the course easier to deal with. I am looking ahead to complete an Ironman in the next few years. I can honestly say that without the advice and support of this family that would not even be a thought. My plan as a board member is to keep that support going and to do the best I can to provide to others what was and continues to be provided to me. I plan to contribute as much as I can to this great club.

Back to Main 2016 Elections Page

Leave a Reply

