David Shapiro

screen-shot-2016-11-06-at-9-03-04-amI have been a BTC member for the 15 years I have lived here. I am honored to be nominated and if elected would do my best to continue the great job the BTC does in supporting our local athletes. I realize that the BTC is only so successful because of all of those who volunteer their time. I have been involved in the BTC more closely the last few years. I suggested and helped with the design and ordering of the tech shirts and I have volunteered at our Marathon water stop the last two years. I also volunteer for Amherst Meals on Wheels, am the Treasurer of my daughter’s soccer teams and raise money every year for the American Diabetes Association by riding in their Tour de Cure.

I am an Anesthesiologist at ECMC and The Center for Ambulatory Surgery but I have only worked half time the last 5 years so as to spend more time with my family (wife Mary, Daughter Alex 14 years old, Black Lab (Fifa 1 year old) while still pursuing multi-sports and Martial Arts (Krav Maga). I completed my first Full Ironman at Lake Placid this year. I had volunteered there the prior year (and at Chattanooga this year) and really appreciate how volunteering can be as inspiring as racing.

Leave a Reply

