Candidate Bio: Alisha Gannon

1) What would you like to see change or continue strong for the BTC in 2021?

The BTC has many opportunities for workouts and has some great events that members can come and get to know each other. However, I understand that being a new member going to events that everyone knows each other can be a little intimating. I would like to see more opportunities for new members to get more comfortable and not fall through the cracks. I would also like to have a few more events that are just get together were we are able to get to know each other. Lastly I would love to have a longer group ride for those training for Ironman. We do have a 100 mile ride at the spring thing. Something a little later in the year that would fit in to ironman training would be a lot of fun and help that 100 mile ride pass a little faster.

2) What areas of responsibility will you volunteer for during your term on the board?

I would like to help organize some of the events, and social gatherings. I hope to get some other members to volunteer at various events this year. The more non-board members that we get to be involved, the more events the BTC can offer. This also gives everyone the opportunity to get to know some new people, maybe find a new training partner, or even a new friend.

3) How have you contributed to the club in the last two years (2019-2020)?

I have been a board member for the past 4 years, and secretary for the past two. During this time I have helped to organize some of our group events, done our photo of the month, organized some apparel orders, and been the election coordinator.

4) Share your experience with group leadership and organization?

In addition to the past 4 years I have spent on the board. Before that I was in another club The Western NY Herpetological Society which I spend 1 year on the board 2 as the Vice president, and 6 years as president. During this time I rotated through almost every task that goes into running a club. I organized big events such as a reptile show and sale, coordinated educational demos and outreach programs. As well as deal with the inventory, and financial aspects of the club. At work I have developed some educational programs to help patients deal different medical issues.

5) Anything else you like to tell us about yourself?

I started out not being able to run more that 5 minutes at a time and I eventually got to the point where I was able to do an Ironman (4 of them). I found that this truly is a passion of mine and I enjoy helping others in their journey.

Leave a comment